2015 – Europe Fast Forward

Animate Europe 2015 - LogoIn 2013, we organised the international comics competition Animate Europe for the first time. Based on its great success, we ran a second edition in 2015 with the topic Europe Fast Forward:

“In the beginning, there was war. Then a project was set up to bring peace and prosperity to Europe. Today, it has grown to be an ever closer union of 28 very diverse member states. In recent years, the European project has been braving troubled waters. Though it remains a fascinating idea, it is struggling with low popularity.

Europe Fast Forward – What does the future hold for the European Union?

Imagine you could fast-forward in time… anytime into the future, be it 2025, 2050 or 2500. What do you think Europe will look like? Will the European Union stick together and master its challenges as one? What role will it play in the world? How will we live? Which scientific innovations will shape our everyday life? Look into your crystal ball!”

Gruppenfoto JuryFrom 60 entries from comic artists from 23 countries our jury, consisting of Valérie Constant, Director, Apropos Communication Agency, Willem De Graeve, Director, Belgian Comic Center, Paul Gravett, Comics expert, Andreas C. Knigge, Comics expert, Birgit Weyhe, Comics artist, selected seven finalists who were then asked to finish an eight-page graphic short story.

Award Ceremony Animate Europe 2015_19At the award ceremony in October 2015, hosted at the Belgian Comic Strip Center, our cooperation partner for the competition, the jury awarded Nicole Knötig the first prize  for her comic “The Union”. In her graphic novel, she warns that the European Union might break in two parts, a rich North and a poor South.

Find the finalists’ stories here.

With the support of theLogo_MusseBD_EN1